43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

A Different Viewpoint November 6, 2012

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 2:00 pm
Tags: , , , ,

No sillies.  Not on politics or the economy or even anything of very much importance.  To anyone other than myself, that is.  I think I’ve been viewing dating all wrong for these past however many centuries years.  I need to stop worrying about finding ‘the one’ (’cause we all know I’m just stupid enough to be convinced I already found him), and worry more about being able to go out, have fun, meet good people and recoup my dating membership fees in food and drink.  Kinda like when I go to Vegas to make my semi-annual ‘deposit’.  I have to balance out the money lost gambling with the number of ‘free’ drinks that I get.  In the end, Vegas almost always loses that way. 🙂

I’ve had a very long dry spell.  Partly because I haven’t been into it all that much and partly because guys in my area have failed to see the stellar package that I am!  God, that even sounded lame to me.  Well, I’m back into it again.  Who knew that just hearing that everything that you’ve based a year’s worth of angst, jealousy, heartbreak and neurosis on was based on words that he doesn’t even remember saying.  What an ass.  Both of us.  Him and me.  Geesh.  He brought out so many shitty character flaws in me and it’s time to put that annoying part of me back away until the next guy who opts to play head games with me comes along.  Until that time, I will accept dates from men that I possibly wouldn’t last year.  Men that may not be the most photogenic, but can write a good e-mail and have a good sense of humor.  Men who invite me out for lunch and dinner and drinks.

We all know that I am less than a fan of eating dates.  There’s no quick escape when meeting for lunch or dinner.  I much prefer meeting for a drink.  ‘A’ as in one ……. or 4….. whatever.  As I’m working on a stellar $90 goal to cover my next 3 months’ memberships, I’m thinking meals might not be so bad.  Haha.  I’m only half kidding.  Really though, if I’m going to try and expand my horizons, then I need to give this a shot too.

To that end, I have double booked for Friday!!!  If I survive my (what promises to be) excessively boring ‘beverage’ date on Thursday, I have set up a lunch date on Friday with a very nice man who is 51.  And 6’2″.  And apparently dumb enough to think that I’m pretty awesome.  He has a quirky sense of humor and if nothing else, will be fun to talk to.  I have opted to follow that up with a happy hour date with a 6’4″ 50 year old.  He just seems like a bit of a spaz but makes me laugh.  Not sure yet if I’m laughing at him or with him though.  Anywhoo, as I have just thrown out my double booking to the universe and kind of/sort of lamely bragged about it, I am quite positive that now one, if not both, will cancel on me!

Regardless, if I add these two to my dinner date from Friday plus my dinner date set for next week, I should be pretty close to meeting my mark.  And hopefully even closer to meeting ‘my one’. 🙂

 

10 Responses to “A Different Viewpoint”

  1. free2Bu Says:

    Hi there! I think it’s great that you are dating actively and even double-booked lol! I’ve never done that before. Please follow up on how it went? It would be interesting to read. I haven’t made such good experiences with online dating. Maybe you are luckier 🙂 have fun!

    • I will absolutely keep everyone posted! Online dating has serious ups and downs to it …… the trick is to try not to take it seriously and absolutely don’t take it personally! Thanks for the good wishes!

  2. 1smiles Says:

    Good Girl! Putting yourself ‘out there’ presents so many opportunities. And covering your expenses for the dating sites is a fantastic idea!
    Have fun…

  3. Citygirl Says:

    Putting yourself out there, aka lowering your standards, LOL! I’m with you girl, trying it out myself.

  4. Matthew Says:

    Way to get back out there, since I’m obviously not contributing as much as I thought I would from my end of the dating pool.

    • Thanks Matthew and yes, you’ve been slacking. Thank goodness one of us doesn’t have the equivalent of a dating silver spoon or else this blog would be kaput! 😉 Hope all is well with you and …………

      • Matthew Says:

        …let’s just say things are probably going to have an actual direction here soon regarding whether I’ll be considering myself ‘off the market’ or if I need to begin working on my dating profile writing skills again.


Leave a Reply

