43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Apparently “NO” Means, “Sure, Why Not?” January 9, 2013

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 10:12 pm
Tags: , , , ,

So I went to see TD’s son last night at his new job.  I turned down TD’s awesome ‘offer’ to come meet me there with his daughter and told him that I will pick her up at the house and take her to dinner, but that he wasn’t invited.  Yey me.  So I did.  And we went.  And we had a great time.  And his son did a great job.  And his daughter is so smart and witty and awesome but is amazingly introverted and self conscious.  She talks to me though and tells me about far more than I’m sure she talks to anyone else about.  I feel bad about not spending time with her.  I see a lot of me in her.  She reminds me of myself when I was younger (and was actually shy).  Anyway, as we’re talking and laughing and having a great time, guess who shows up?  And plops his ass right down at our table.  And orders dinner.  Uhm, hello?  Awkward much?  I didn’t so much as look in his direction or speak one word to him.  As I’m sure he hasn’t told his kids what a jack-hole he’s been to me and that’s why I haven’t been around, they must have been uber confused.  Well wait, knowing what I know of TD, I’m sure he told them that I’m jealous of his ‘relationship’ with the closet dwelling lunch lady/crossing guard and that’s why I haven’t been around.  Silly me.

Anyway, after dinner I took his daughter back home while he took his son to basketball practice.  I made sure to be gone long before he got back home.  The ‘old’ (and nice) TD would have texted me to thank me for taking her to dinner or to make sure that I arrived home safely.  Last night I got nothin’.  And that’s just fine with me.  Today, however, was a different story.  Today I got the ‘thank you’ text as well as a ‘have a good day’ text and even a bonus text with a picture attached.  Of a moving van at his ex girlfriend/neighbor’s house.  Uhm, thanks idiot.  I don’t care.  And didn’t respond 🙂 He’s so not the man that I remember.  He’s just the asshole guy who looks like the nice guy that I once knew.  What a difference a year makes, right?

(and yes, I know I shouldn’t even be seeing his kids, but that’s something I’m trying to figure out.  I know they’ll be fine without me and I’ll be a-ok without them, but I’m just trying to navigate this all so that they (and me) are okay with how we leave things)

 

8 Responses to “Apparently “NO” Means, “Sure, Why Not?””

  1. maggieat40 Says:

    Break the chain! Enough is enough. You are only putting yourself through more misery. I read your posts and feel a lot of empathy. It’s time to move on, but you can’t do that by continuing to entangle yourself with this man and his family. Stop the rationalizations. Everyone will survive. You won’t move on until you have a clean break. No text, no phone, no contact of any kind – for good. Work on your issues and leave them to work on theirs. Stop drudging up the past. Stop complaining. Stop justifying. Stop envisioning what could or might be. It’s time to face a new future. The sooner you make the break, the sooner you can get on with your life. Otherwise, you are just walking around buried in baggage and there is no way you’ll move into a new relationship with all that on your shoulders. Good luck. I’m routing for you!

    • Thanks Maggie. I can use all the people I can rooting for me! 🙂 And thanks for the kick in the pants, btw …… you know I love being called out on my shit 😉 (and I’m being serious) I know the kids will be fine and I probably am hanging on to them needlessly. They will be just fine without me. And yes, I’ll be just fine without them too. I know that.

  2. This is complicated. But you seem to be on the right road, and your head is pointed in the right direction. You’ll get there. 2013 will be a better year for you…

    Cheers, SD

    • thanks SD. Friendships should never be ‘complicated’ and that’s what our problem always was …….. and yes, 2013 will be a much better year for me (especially since I set the bar SOOOOO low in 2012) 😉

  3. SillyG Says:

    Was reading and thinking oh boy GG you gotta break from these kids. So glad when I saw that you are there. Just tell them the truth about why you cant see them anymore and move on. They are old enough to get why you cant see them anymore. They will understand. Time will do its work. 😦

    • I know Silly, the thing is, I don’t know what to tell them …… his truth or mine? That I’m jealous of the closet dwelling lunch lady or that their dad was dick to me? Neither are very good options. I guess I could just say that we’re not getting along and need time apart ……


Leave a Reply

