43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

WOW! 2013 Is Certainly Starting Off With A ………….. Fizzle January 10, 2013

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 9:09 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Shoot.  I bet you all thought I was going to say ‘bang’, right?  Although I’ve had a lot of interest on both dating sites (yes, I know, I’m like that shiny new gym membership that no one cares about after the 1st 2 weeks of the new year), I’ve only just gone on my 1st date.  With a guy that I had some great phone conversations with and funny text message exchanges.  Maybe we should have left it at that.  I have decided that I’m going to ‘dress’ for dates this year.  As in, actually put some effort into what I’m wearing and attempt to look pretty instead of throwing on whatever is closest and clean(ish).  Ha!  While I never dressed poorly for dates (well, I actually did for a couple ~ TD being one of them!), I usually went for casual over pretty.  This year, as it was recommended to me by a ginormous douchebag that I try to be ‘more romantic’, I have opted to look like a girl.  And a pretty one at that.  Well, as pretty as I can manage, but that’s neither here nor there.  So in I walk in black skinny jeans, a pretty v-neck cashmere sweater and some killer heels that I can’t walk for shit in.  I was early, on purpose, thanks to not being able to properly walking in said heels and being afraid of face planting in the bar.  I grabbed a seat at the bar after having a hysterical back and forth with the darling floor manager (who sadly, was only about 5’2″) and texted my date that I was there.

And in he walks.  All 6’2″ of him.  Glasses, weak chin and nervous tick.  Damn.  He was very sweet and as we had discussed my love of all things vodka, he gave me a little wrapped package.  No people, not that kind of package.  It was 2 little yummy vodka bottles.  Chopin and Kettle One Cirtoen.  Very sweet.  I talked.  I laughed.  I drank.  I put on my patented ‘GG show’ as he wasn’t saying much.  He just kinda sat there.  I tried soooo hard to like him.  If nothing else, he works for a liquor distributor and they get hooked up with amazing event tickets all the time.  And he has a big group of friends.  And I could potentially be invited to one/many of these events.  And potentially meet/like/fall in love with one of his friends.  But that wouldn’t be fair to him; my actual date.  So instead of just agreeing with him and saying how much I adore hair bands from the 80s and going to sporting events, I did the opposite and made up excuses why I didn’t like those things.  Sure, I honestly can’t stand heavy metal, but they’re going to Pink next month for shit’s sake and who doesn’t love a free good concert?  Apparently, according to what I said, I don’t.  Nor, apparently, do I like going to sporting events which is actually a big fat lie because I am a big fan of concession stand hot dogs and $14 draft beers!  But I didn’t do it.  I didn’t want to take advantage of his good nature when I knew that I wasn’t interested.  So I cut the date short, thanked him, gave him a big hug and left it at that.  And proceeded to go pick up dinner from Pei Wei.  With my little vodka bottles still firmly secured in my pocket.

Is it bad that while I was waiting for him at the bar that I was texting with 2 others guys from Match?  And have a coffee interview date set up with one of them for Sunday afternoon? 😉

 

16 Responses to “WOW! 2013 Is Certainly Starting Off With A ………….. Fizzle”

  1. kayakgirl104 Says:

    I look forward to your posts all the time. They’re funny, honest and deep. I can’t tell you the amount of times I want to reach through the computer and give you a big hug or clink glasses! Lol.

    Anyway, just wanted to say thanks for the great blog and I wish you a great 2013. You did the right thing on this date and you seem like you’re starting the new year off on a much better and brighter note. Good luck on Sunday! If nothing else, lets hope the coffee is strong and hot:)

    • Awww, thank you KG. It still amazes me that anyone reads my blog and hasn’t stopped doing so with the huge number of self pittying, annoyingly redundant woe is me posts about TD. Funny, I normally read back and see where I was ‘this time last year’, but I clearly remember that NYE was another shitstorm at TD’s, so didn’t both to do that this year. Thanks for the good wishes for Sunday. I’d much prefer for the coffee to suck and my date to be strong and hot! 🙂

  2. Matthew Says:

    Wait…80’s bands? I’ll go, not as his date…but maybe he has a cute, young, friend…? 😉

  3. It’s all a big fat game, and you seem to be playing it well. Still sucks though… I wish I was interested in more people, but I’m just not, and that really stinks. Meh.

    • Thanks MJMR. It is a big fat game. One that I can’t stand. You and me both on the attraction part. It’s been a looooong time since I’ve been on a date where I was actually physically attracted to the guy. Boo. 😦

  4. LjS Says:

    Great post! I think I may have been on more than my share of that same date!

    Check out: “Online Dating Sucks…but it’s how I fell in love” by John P. Gavin
    it’s very funny and has great advice too.

    I actually know first hand about this book because John was an online dating advice columnist in the SF Bay area and guess who met him online?!?

    • Thanks LJS! I’ll have to check it out. Uhm, so are you the one he fell in love with?

      • LjS Says:

        I am! And wow what an amazing journey it’s been. John was that online dater I called a ‘serial dater’. I had all but given up hope of finding a great guy. And to tell you the truth, at first glance I didn’t want to date him (even though he is incredibly handsome and tall and sexy). It just seemed like he was in dater mode and I was looking for a long term relationship.

        The book is really our story – wrapped around his advice columns. And man do we have a story!

        So…… see? there is hope online!!

  5. I read ODS as well. It’s a great read.

    I don’t think it was bad that you were texting at the bar with two guys, PLAYA! Just kidding:)

    • LjS Says:

      Fun to hear that you read the book! I will have to check out your blog – and I’ll tell John too.

      And yeah, I have to agree with you…if the guy ain’t it…next … or text in this case 😉

    • Haha. That’ll be the day. Me a player 😉 I can’t even get a good looking guy (to me) to respond to my messages …….

  6. SillyG Says:

    Dammit… why the weak chin. The vodka connection seemed too good to be true!

    • Ahhh Silly, I fear I will be old and grey(er) when I finally meet someone that I am attracted to ….. and that will probably only be because I will have cataracts by then 😉

      • SillyG Says:

        Nothing wrong with high standards… in my case, I just get worried that the longer I am am relatively single (funny I still think that after dating someone for like 7 months) that I will get pickier and less tolerant.


Leave a Reply

