43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Let’s Take A Vote January 28, 2013

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 6:29 pm
Tags: , , ,

K, so I’m on this horrid diet *gag* for a couple more weeks.  I’ve been busy with work, so not much free time.  I’ve got lots of fun things to do lined up with girlfriends next month.  I’ve pretty much come to terms with the fact that although I miss him, I miss the ‘old’ version of TD and not the new one.  None of these fun activities or new revelations are going to get me any closer to my happily ever after though.  Or at least help to subside my fear of dying alone.  And no-one finding my body for 2 weeks.  So I’m going to need to do the unthinkable.  Mainly so I have something to blog about other than what I had for breakfast (and since I’m well on my way to being senile, I couldn’t even tell you what that was).

I’m going to have to dive back into the cesspool of online dating.  I need to rework my profile and get some new pics up (’cause I can’t stand the profiles that have had the same pics forever…….and also because I don’t want people to be able to figure out that I’ve been online forever looking).  I don’t think I’m asking too much in wanting someone who makes me laugh.  Who makes me smile just by thinking of him.  Who is kind and caring and empathetic.  Who doesn’t chew with his mouth open.  And isn’t entirely ‘broken’.  Or with a big ole’ chip on his shoulder.  And who I have the slightest bit of physical attraction to.

Dilemma #1:  which site to go back on.  While Match is a given since they already lured me back in for another 3 months with their dirt cheap renewal rate, I’m thinking I may need to cast a wider net.  So here’s a rundown of my options and my current thoughts on them:

E-Harmony: Although I had ‘better’ luck this time around, I set the bar REALLY low the 1st time.  😉 And it’s really expensive.  And annoying.

Chemistry: NO!

Plenty of Fools: NO!

OkStupid: Hmmmmm.  I haven’t been on that site since the stalkerish Irish Guy one sided love fest of 2010.

Christian Mingle:  No way in hell!!  Sorry Christian single peeps; I don’t think a religious dating site is for me.  Especially since I’m Jewish.

JDate: yup, although technically Jewish, not a big fan of nappy haired momma’s boys so ………….. NO!

OurTime: Uhm, I’m not that old yet, right?

SugarDaddie: Gross.  NO!

I’m sure there are many more out there to consider.  I’m just not sure where I want to ‘fish’ though.  Online dating can be soooo discouraging but while I actually hate dating, I love being in a relationship, so if any of you can figure out how to get me there without having to actually ‘date’, that would be awesome! 😉  And yes, I’ve looked into singles groups in my area but they’re just kinda creepy.  And expensive as hell.  And although I certainly want to find my happily ever after and am a bit dubious that it will actually happen online, I would like to have some money left in the bank when that time comes that I do grow old(er) and grey(er).  I’ll need to be able to support myself and my 27 dogs, ya know.  😉

Give me your thoughts!  Thanks!

 

11 Responses to “Let’s Take A Vote”

  1. I would recommend getting a hobby. Or hell, go to the health food store, I have started going there a lot for their kale…and dude, there are ALWAYS cute guys there…what the hell?

  2. SillyG Says:

    So agree with the above! Spend time time you would do online dating crap and do something where you might meet a guy… make a new coffee shop hangout or something where there are regulars. idk there has to be something that is better than online dating. See how long you can avoid it, you know it sucks. 🙂

    • Anything is better than online dating at this point. I wasn’t going to put up a profile probably for another few weeks at the soonest, but I’m a weenie and like to have all my ducks in a row 🙂

  3. dsantos85 Says:

    i’m on both match and okcupid. Match hasn’t worked for me….it’s been about a month since i’ve actually gotten a message from somebody! haha. okcupid works for me i suppose…can’t say how well since i’m still single! lol

  4. Citygirl Says:

    I’m also trying to find ways to meet guys organically. I hate online dating with a passion. I finally closed my POF account because the guys on there are just creepy and trolling for sex. I still have my OK Cupid account which hasn’t too bad for me…meeting ok guys (haha) just not great guys. My Match account ends on…get this…Valentine’s Day. Still deciding whether I should renew or not. Although my friend and I have been having a decent time going to their Stir Events. Have you ever tried Meet Up, or is that the single group you were talking about? I would join a gym or take up some hobby that guys like to do. Sorry I don’t have any cool ideas, I’m in the same boat as you.

    • Ewwww, good call on closing POF. Those are some serious bottom feeders! When you go to cancel your match account, list ‘financial or costs too much’ as your reason and they’ll extend a killer discount to you not to cancel. Just a little tip from me to you. 🙂 Meet up is a little creepy in town and apparently events and adventures is a big ole’ scam ….. we’ll both get this pesky guy thing figured out eventually 😉

  5. SillyG said it right. Take it to the streets. Physically get out there with a smile and some heels and see what happens.


Leave a Reply

