43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Cricket February 2, 2013

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 9:31 pm

What?  Nope, not talking about the English lawn game.  Nor am I referring to the crickets that are chirping from my online dating account only because my profile is hidden.  For now and for however much longer I decide.  I am not referring to the massive amount of text messages that I’ve been receiving from cute guys that are begging to do my bidding either.  Mainly because that’s not happening.  The guys or the texts.  What I am referring to is something that I didn’t even remember.  Not in one of my early-onset-senility ways either.  I mean ever.  And when I saw it, it made me smile.  I keep a box of letters in my closet in shoe box.  Letters from friends, past boyfriends, parents, grandparents, whoever.  I was always a big fan of letters and I miss them.  It’s hard to store a text message strand in a shoebox, ya’ know.  Anyway, I pull out the box every now and again read some of the letters.  They always (almost) bring back good memories.  I guess I was feeling industrious today as I started pulling letters and cards from the bottom of the box, which I apparently never do.  One of the first ones I pulled out was a card from my grandmother.  From 1976.  Grandma was always good about sending cards for all sorts of occasions.  I have 3 sisters and I assume we all got them.  What she was also good at was assigning us nicknames.  I know you’ll find it all hard to believe, but I used to be a huge chatter-box.  Always asking questions or rambling on about something totally pointless.  I kinda still am.  Only now, I don’t have the cute nickname that my grandmother used to call me.   Anyway, I opened the card and there it was, my nickname that she always called me.  Long since forgotten.

How on earth could I not remember this?  I loved my grandmother more than anything in the world.  Although she was always a tough cookie, she was also one of the sweetest, classiest and most caring women ever (too bad none of that rubbed off onto my mother, but that’s certainly not the point of this).  She’s the one that held my extended family together.  When she passed away much too young when I was still in college, our family fell apart.  Literally.  So how could I forget the sweet and funny nickname that she gave me?  I have no clue.

It was a simple nickname and apparently very fitting as I was always chirping in the background.  So what’s this nickname that she used to call me that I never remembered?  I’ll give you a hint (and by hint I mean I’ll just tell you).  The little card that I opened that was addressed to me and written in her horrible handwriting started like this: Dear Cricket ……..

I’ve had a few nicknames in my life.  Some cute, some not so cute.  Some funny and some just ridiculous.  This is the one I love the best.  God i miss that woman …….

 

2 Responses to “Cricket”

  1. 1smiles Says:

    I absolutely love it! All of it.. keeping the letters and the beautiful tribute story about your grandma..
    I am amazed at all of the stong women I’ve had in my life. Whether they were wrong or right wasn’t really the issue. Because either way.. they were Certain.
    Have a wonderful Sunday.
    Jeannie

  2. The Dating Circus Says:

    Awwwwww you so touched me today. My grandma is going through some bad things. I can’t really be there for her. My fave person in the world. Thanks for sharing your story 🙂 And yay for letters!!!


Leave a Reply

