43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

I’m Plugging That Leak February 10, 2013

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 8:08 pm
Tags: , , , ,

You know, the one that’s in my ever waning ‘glass is half full’ outlook on dating.  Internet dating to be more precise.  I’ve had my online profiles hidden for about a month now.  I just couldn’t take one more mediocre date or yet another recent parolee adding me to his ‘favorites’ list.  Or sending me a nightmare inducing wink.  Although I’m certainly not looking forward to the inevitable onslaught of winks and message from incompatible 65 year olds who live more than an hour (or two states) away, it is what it is.  And what it is, is what I make of it.

With that in mind, after having 8,388 ‘views’ of my profile in the past 4 months, I have chosen to re-write it and put my profile back online.  I have a tendency to blather on about things and inevitably putting to sleep any potential men that might actually be normal …. ish.  My old profile was lighthearted and funny and much too long.  I fear that my new profile is just boring.  And too long …. again.  I could use some help, so although I’ve never posted my profile before on here (aside from the REALLY bitchy one that I did a couple of years ago), I’d love your input.

So you know I’m tall and blonde from my ever so creative screen name.  What you don’t know is that I’m a pretty big clutz who has tripped over absolutely nothing more times than I care to remember; has walked into light posts several times and has inevitably fallen off the curb while walking down the sidewalk.  I’m also good at logic puzzles (and people).  Didn’t want you to think I’m a complete ditz, because I’m not ….. far from it, actually.

I’m the 1st person to drop absolutely everything to help out a friend.  I’m the one that they call for advice or when they need cheering up.  I’m also the one that helps them budget (not sure how that fits in for the entertainment factor, but it is what it is).  While I may not be the most coordinated, I’ll certainly be your biggest cheerleader.

Although it sometimes springs a leak, I try to be a ‘glass is half full’ type of person and will always look for the positive in a situation.  If I can’t find a positive, I will just laugh at the absurdity of it.  As a matter of fact, I will try to laugh in most situations.  Laughter is so important in the day to day …..

I am looking for someone who is intelligent, witty and sincere. He’s got a good head on his shoulders and a good sense of humor.  I admire people with integrity, empathy and compassion for others. Someone who is outgoing and confident and is trying to live their best life every day and have fun while they’re doing it.

I won’t lie; physical attraction is important too, as there needs to be that elusive ‘spark’.

Although sounding as if it may have come from a greeting card, I still hold onto the romantic notion of finding someone who is not only my best friend, who I am wildly attracted to and who I enjoy spending time with (doing something fun or doing nothing at all), but who makes me want to be the best person that I can be every single day.  Hopefully I’ll do the same for him.

I will be hiding this post in a few days as all I need is for some google happy dipshit find this blog (which has happened to me before), but until that time, pick away ……..

Oh, and better sit down for this one ….. I actually sent a message to 2 guys.  I’m certain never to be heard from again.  Oh whoops, apparently I forgot to plug that hole in my glass 😉

 

6 Responses to “I’m Plugging That Leak”

  1. singlewhitefemaledating Says:

    Well, I am not a guy… god knows if they will read it or put any thought into the person behind the profile – anyway #waytoocynical…. fingers crossed for Normalishhhhhh!! LOL

  2. CP Says:

    I really like the last three paragraphs about what you are looking for in a man, but the start of it – your clumsiness – sounds too self-deprecating. By talking so much about being a good friend (which is an admirable quality, don’t get me wrong), you may be setting yourself up for those wishing to take advantage of your good nature.

    My profile is very short, and men often mention that they like it. It’s concise and direct, maybe too direct for some but I’m not interested in those who are easily intimidated anyway.

    Truthfully, I think most men just care about what the woman looks like. Like you, I’m tall and blonde, and I have several that show close-up’s of my face (don’t tell but I’ve photoshopped the wrinkles around my eyes) and ones of my entire body because guys seem to want reassurance on your body type.

    P.S. I’m so proud of you for barely mentioning TD in any of your latest posts!

    • Hi CP. Thanks for the comment (and the kudos on not mentioning you know who ;-)). I like that your profile is concise and direct. I have a challenge being concise, I guess. My pics are good ones. Face shots, full body shots, none taken in a bathroom mirror 😉 I appreciate the input and I think you’re right about being too self deprecating. And I certainly don’t need anyone to peg me as a ‘fixer’ and take advantage of my good(ish) nature … I’ll have to work on that part of my profile.

  3. Citygirl Says:

    I agree with CP. Short and concise is good. You should delete that first paragraph. Don’t write too much about your personality traits. A lot of people are so fickle on dating sites. If they don’t like one word it’s on to the next profile. Lead with your pics. Create a little mystery when describing yourself. You want a guy to be intrigued and make him want to know who you are. You write anything and everything about you they will feel like they already know who you are and won’t respond. God luck!

    • I deleted the 1st 2 paragraphs 🙂 You’re SO right about it just taking one ‘wrong’ descriptive term for a guy to pass right on by. I guess I always erred on the side of telling too much about myself so that a guy would know who I was and not waste my time …… huh, that hasn’t worked out too well for me, so now I’ll try that elusive thing 😉 Thanks for your input! 🙂


Leave a Reply

