43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Wow, That Was Fast! February 11, 2013

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 7:13 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Amazing.  I just put my profile back up on Match and guess what?  I already have a date for Valentine’s Day!!!! Yey me!  Okay, in the interest of full disclosure, I didn’t actually find my date on match.  It was more of a speed dating event.  Nor is this date my usual ‘type’.  Okay fine, I’m going out with a girlfriend.  To a single’s event.  While I can’t really think of anything more horrifying than a singles event being held on Valentine’s Day, it beats sitting home eating heart shaped chocolates that I bought for myself and watching Top Chef re-runs (although I can’t wait to see the finale).

It’s actually an event that I found out about through one of my new meetup groups (that site is kinda awesome as you can join one or 5,000 groups that are all sorta customized to what you’re looking for).  The event is being held at a bar that I’ve never been to that is supposed to be pretty cool.  And it’s a fairly interactive one (the event, not the bar ……. duh).  Which will most likely prevent me/us from standing in a corner with a cocktail in hand and people watching.

It’s called a ‘lock and key’ event.  For those unfamiliar (which was me up until about an hour ago), the women get keys when they arrive and the guys get locks.  The mission is to find as many locks as your key will actually unlock.  As highly phallic as this activity is (at least to those of us with dirty minds), it kinda sounds like fun.  I think.  I know for sure that the drink specials sound fun.  And I’m pretty certain that my friend and I will be more fun than many of the other women there.  Want to know how I know this?  Well, that’s because there is a message board on this particular meetup group’s activity site.  Which, for those of us that are not actually lurkers (me), means that you can post comments.  And 2 of the women have already posted that they’re afraid it’s going to be ‘too cold’ as the event is being held out on the patio of this big bar.  The patio of this bar that has fireplaces and space heaters.  I’m also fairly certain that although we are a desert climate that stores sell these crazy, newfangled things called coats in order to keep warm.  🙂

Yey for locks and keys!  Or just drink specials …….. 😉

 

9 Responses to “Wow, That Was Fast!”

  1. 1smiles Says:

    Go to a locksmith tomorrow and purchase a master key. You can unlock em all that way! Have a great time!

  2. Citygirl Says:

    Have a great time, can’t wait to hear how it went! A friend of mine went to a lock and key event, and while she didn’t meet anyone to go out with, she had a great time. Tonight she and I are going to a Match event. this will be our third. Each one gets better, so I sort of have high expectations…could bite me in the butt thinking that way, lol.

  3. Citygirl Says:

    Match event was a bust. There were about 20 women and 6 men, none that tickled my fancy. So my friend and I stayed for an hour then went to get dinner. Oh well. Looking forward to hearing about tomorrow’s lock and key event!

    • Sorry your event wasn’t all that great. I’m sure the next one will be better! I’ll be sure to post about the Lock & Key thingie and then there’s a match mixer next Tuesday as well …. yey? 😉


Leave a Reply

