43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Cock Blocked By Match! February 26, 2013

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 8:39 am
Tags: , , , ,

So as quick as I announced that I was having what appeared to be decent luck (for an entire day!) on match, the damn website cock blocked me.  I was so busy patting myself on the back for having 3 guys respond to my messages that it came as quite the shocker when not one of them bothered to respond to my follow-up response to their messages.  Boo.  How quickly online dating prospects tarnish, right?  I actually went back on to re-read my messages that got ignored.  Nope, not snarky.  Not flippant.  Not sarcastic or negative or boring (well, maybe a little boring ….. I don’t want to scare the crap out of people before I get to meet them 😉 ).  They were all good messages.  Not too wordy, somewhat interesting and all were encouraging.  I’ve found that men, being the simple creatures that they are, need a bit of encouragement, so I’ve taken to ending my messages with some variation of ‘looking forward to hearing back from you’.  Only I didn’t.  Not one of them.  Boo.

One of them however was ballsy/gutsy/pushy/needy enough to follow-up his response to me by asking why I didn’t respond.  What?  Stupid match didn’t deliver any of the messages that I sent last night!  WTF?  Like I need help having guys blow me off.  Geesh.  So I resent all of my messages and what do you know?  Heard back from all of them! 🙂 Yey me!

I decided I’d push my luck (or just be pushy, you decide) and even messaged someone who messaged me first with some questions.  And then blocked me when I responded.  Rude.  I guess he didn’t like my answers?  Anyway, I decided that was unacceptable for me (because I’m a bitch like that) and messaged him again (silly men, once a message trail has started on Match, it can continue even if you block the person) with a snarky little ‘so I take it by your blocking me that you didn’t like my response to your question?  that’s a shame as manners are important to me’.  And what do you know?  Even HE responded back!  He didn’t block me, but hid his profile as he was getting overwhelmed with the whole online thing.  He said he’d find my message an respond as he wouldn’t want me to think that he was rude.  Haha.  I guess I can up my count to 4 now.

Any bets on how quickly I can get that count back down to zero? 😉

 

13 Responses to “Cock Blocked By Match!”

  1. Matthew Says:

    Groovy! Looks like you aren’t going to need my guest posts anymore. Though for one to write about dating one must go out on dates. Ugh. Of anything I may have something soon…because I’ve started looking into Speed Dating out here. Thought it could be fun to try out, at least once.

    • No need to get too excited Matthew….I haven’t actually met any of them yet ;-). Boo for your dry spell. Speed dating is fun! In theory 😉 I actually met someone great at a speed dating event ….. Ms. Magnet, as a matter of fact. Wasn’t the point of going but we bonded over the men and wondering how 6 minutes could seem sooooooo long! Heehee

      • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

        BTW, I’ll always need your guest posts Matthew! 🙂

      • Matthew Says:

        I’m excited to test the Speed Dating waters, in theory. 😉 Does it work along the lines of the guy moves from table to table or something?

        • Grey Goose, Dirty Says:

          Yes; the girls stay put and the guys move around and talk to each one for @6 minutes (they will ring a bell or something as equally annoying to signify when it’s time to switch) and you both rate each other as to if you’re interested or not … at the end, mutual ‘likes’ get each others’ contact information.

  2. Citygirl Says:

    Glad you had a good response rate despite the inital technical mishap! Crossing my fingers for some upcoming positive posts!

  3. Cassie Says:

    How do you know when your blocked on match?

    • Hi Cassie. It’s the same if a person blocks you as it is if they hide or take down their profile temporarily/permanently. If you’ve corresponded with them, you can see their profile at the top of the messages page but aside from their photo and their ‘headline’ it will say ‘additional profile information not available’ (or something like that) where the body of their essay/profile should be. If you’ve never corresponded with them, then their profile just won’t show up on your searches or favorites.


Leave a Reply

