43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

109 Minutes March 1, 2013

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 4:24 pm
Tags: , , , ,

That’s how long my date lasted last night.  With ……………. oh wait, 1st I have to tell you about the nicest blow off I think I’ve ever gotten online.  There was a very handsome man who ‘liked’ one of my pictures (I find this new addition to match highly annoying, btw), so I looked at his profile and really liked it.  Well written, funny, intelligent and we had several things in common.  Too bad he’s only 5’9″, but as everyone is supposedly the same height lying down I’m broadening my horizons , I opted to message him.  A cute little message that let him know that I was interested and had read his profile (apparently women are just as guilty as men in only going by the pictures ~ who knew?).  Anyway, I could see that he read my message to him but instead of responding, he just added me to his ‘favorites’.  Huh.  Weird.  Apparently he uses that as a reminder of the women that he needs to turn down. 😉  This morning I received this:

Hi GG – I would make an exception for such a beauty if I saw that we had more in common…You are very lovely and I have to try not to just go on that! It’s very hard to be disciplined about the other criteria when one is looking at a tall beautiful blond woman!I’m going to have to say thank you and pass – and I wish all the best and thanks for showing me I can attract such a beauty!

Wasn’t that nice?  I sent back a thank you(?) and that we’d have to agree to disagree on the commonalities part, but that I was sure he’d find someone terrific.  I guess he was too old for me anyway.  Or I was too tall for him.  Meh.

So back to last night.  I was all set to go in jeans, boots and a sweater and then remembered that I’m female and supposed to dress pretty.  Whatever.  So I changed into a cute polka dot dress, boots & a jean jacket (yes, Ms. Magnet, the exact same outfit I wore to our ill-fated match mixer with all the geriatrics …… minus the push up bra) and off I went.  I got there 1st and grabbed a seat at the bar.  He showed up about 5 minutes later and gave me a hug.  I immediately sized him up (such a horrible habit of mine).  He was wearing jeans and nice striped long-sleeved button down shirt.  He was very tan and had a bit of a weak(ish) chin (we all know how I can’t stand weak chins, right?).  Again, I inwardly smacked myself for being such a bitch judgemental person.  We talked about lots of things.  Laughed a lot.  Compared bad date stories and I found myself having a good time.  His questions sort of fell along the lines of a job application, but everyone goes about online dating differently, right?  He explained how some women are very standoffish and sort of ‘whoa there, slow down’ when he suggests a 2nd date during the 1st.  Uhm, what?  Isn’t that how it’s supposed to be done?  He was very honest about wanting to find someone and his wanting to get off of match.  Duh.  Anyway, we talked and laughed and had a good time.  He had 2 beers and I had 1 drink (plus the one I had at home before I left …….. shhhhh).  He walked me out to my car and gave me a big hug and then said the oddest thing ever.  He said ‘I had a good time but let’s just let things macerate for a couple of days and we’ll talk’.  I couldn’t help myself, I laughed and asked what on earth he meant by that.  He again brought up that a lot of women that he’s met online don’t like to ‘lock in’ a 2nd date right away.  Uhm, okay.  Of course I couldn’t just leave it at that.  I told him to go ahead and ask.  And he looked shocked.  So I told him again to go ahead and ask.  And he asked if I wanted to go to a hockey game (we had spoken about hockey for some reason and I said I enjoyed going to games as your beer never gets warm 😉 ).  I said ‘I’d love too’, but we’ll see if I just shot myself in the foot on that one.  Damn if I am incapable of just letting things go at their own pace.  Oh well, I did get a ‘ it was great meeting you and I had a great time’ text last night as well as a ‘good morning’ text this morning from him, so I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Oh, and one other thing we spoke about was his love of playing golf …………… in Arkansas.  😉 Okay fine, that’s not nice.  A promise is a promise.  I met with The Golfer last night.  But did get a ‘good morning gorgeous’ text from Arkansas today.  And a blow off from a 55-year-old teacher.  All in all, and interesting day. 😉

 

10 Responses to “109 Minutes”

  1. Jacs Says:

    Yay golfer!!! Yay hockey!! Yay for honesty!!!! All around yay!

  2. Matthew Says:

    “We’ll just have to wait and see.” ???????? Do I fly out there and give you a [polite] but much needed wake-up-call?! Seriously…what about your last few paragraphs makes you think in the slightest that he’s not going to follow-thru with the hockey date?

    Oy! Women! 😉

    And congrats…looks like you may have just gone out on what I consider a “Nice Guy” date. You did it perfectly, particularly by calling him out on the letting things “simmer” for a few days and boldly telling him to just ask you. Seriously, he is probably still walking on cloud nine because you did that.

    Welcome to the big leagues! – from this “young pup”.

    • Thanks Matthew but I must ask …….. are you new here? You know I never ‘read’ things correctly and inevitably screw them up. Add that to the fact that the mind of the majority of male internet daters in my town tends to lean towards ‘shiny ball syndrome’. I’m going to just sit back and wait and see what transpires with this one. And yes, he was a nice guy 🙂

  3. SillyG Says:

    Yep. The strong chin is right up there with good posture on my list! This sounds good though (even without the chin). Thats actually a good line about letting things simmer for a bit in the online dating world…. so many first dates where people are put on the spot for a second date asap.

    • Funny the differing opinions. I think if a date is going well that I want them to ask for a 2nd date right then and there. Probably because I’m not a huge fan of the ‘unknown’ and don’t like waiting around to see what transpires…..

  4. Citygirl Says:

    Congrats on the first date and getting the second date! Sometimes you just have to take charge…even though you’re supposed to let the guy do all the work…but it’s no good when they don’t do it!

  5. Citygirl Says:

    Shoot! His loss.


Leave a Reply

