43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Where Have I Been? June 15, 2013

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 12:42 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Hope I didn’t worry the two of you that still follow my inane dribble with my (not so) extended absence.  I’m excited to tell you what has caused such a dip in boring and self pitying posts!  I had a great date last week!  He was tall and handsome and gainfully employed.  He looked like his pictures, has a great sense of humor and seems to think that I’m pretty darn awesome myself!  We’ve been talking & texting and have seen each other 3 times in the past week.  Things are just casual and fun.  And all in my head.  While I’d love to tell you that that’s where I’ve actually been, it isn’t.  I’ve been working.  A lot.  And although I did have a date last week, it sucked.  And he sucked.  And the drinks weren’t even all that good either.

What I’ve really been up to is working.  And working.  And eating.  And dog sitting for my ex boyfriend (from 5 years ago).  And receiving winks from age inappropriate men.  And receiving not just one, but 2 poems from old men (uh, 67 … really?) as well as many form letters and even a few that were actually written with some thought put into customizing them.  Too bad all that thought could have been better put to use by this little thing called spell-check.  Yup, I’m a peach.  At least I’m a peach that can spell.

I really haven’t done much with Match for the past 10 days or so (did I mention that job #2 is trying to kill us with work?).   Although the fact that I’ve been swamped with work does play a big part in this, the fact that most of the guys that contact me look they could have come from a swamp plays into it as well.

I did have a very cute guy wink at me yesterday.  I’ve thought he was cute since the day I signed up originally on Match 3 years ago (really?  3?  it seems SO much longer).   I know it’s the same guy because he has never changed his picture.  Huh.  So he sent a wink and, because he has very nice eyes and wrote a good profile, got one of my patented lame messages in return.  I kept the snark and sarcasm out of it.  Too bad I also left the fun and humor out of it as well.  Hopefully it was enough to be worthy of a response from him.  I guess we’ll see.

In other news, The Teacher, The Pilot, The Ginger, The Little Irish Guy (I can’t remember what the hell I blog-named him) and the one and only guy that I have met so far this year that I really could have liked (until he never asked me out again) ALL still have me under ‘favorites’ on match.  Stellar ………..

Damn I need some good stuff to happen.  I signed up for a bowling meet up tonight because a) I’m bored b) I have to stop being a hermit c) you can drink while you bowl d) it’s thru a group of people that are kinda cool and e) it will amuse me to ‘accidentally’ drop my bowling ball on the foot of the idiot that Speed-dater and I had the misfortune of sitting next to at dinner last week at another meetup and is also going.  🙂

 

4 Responses to “Where Have I Been?”

  1. 1smiles Says:

    At least you’re still trying. I gave up my membership.

    • I’m only still (half-assed) trying as I forgot to cancel and they renewed my darn membership …….. at the regular rate! If they’re going to make me pay $60 in order to meet lame men, well then …… oh wait, I have no desire to meet any more lame men

      • 1smiles Says:

        That’s how I got stuck the last time too. Ugh.
        Now i’m facilitating a singles group.. at least I get first dibs with the new guys that call about the events we have. A new guy came tonight… he’s an insurance adjuster, sort of attractive, likes the coconut cake I made.. and he’s very witty. We’ll see if he shows up at comedy club on Friday.
        Who’d have thought it would be this difficult!


Leave a Reply

