43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Who Likes To Swing? July 17, 2014

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 7:36 am

And no, I don’t mean in a ‘let’s go to the park and have some fun’ kinda way. I mean in a ‘let’s go to the country club after hours and swap partners’ kinda way. Great. That was the 1st message I got when I went back on OkCupid (do you now know why I refer to it as OkStupid?). A cute guy who wrote a terrific profile sent me this. Uhm, what is it about my profile and professed desire to find ‘my one’ or the explicit category of ‘strictly monogamous’ that would leave room for ‘grey area’?

The powers that be on that site (and by that, I mean the trained monkeys that have no clue what they’re doing) have deemed it appropriate to send me bisexuals and men looking for ‘a casual hookup’ (yes, that’s actually an option that you can choose) in my daily quick-matches. Super. If anything, it certainly cuts down the time it takes me to actually go through my matches each day….

I did have one guy message me (exactly 12 minutes after I joined) and it turns out that I’ve met him before. I even have his phone number in my phone. He apparently has no clue though as his amazingly soul searching question for me was ‘what makes a great martini’ with no reference to his name, my name or anything else. I thought about ‘reminding’ him that we’ve met – and chatted at length – but decided against it. If he can’t remember who I am less than 2 months later, then I couldn’t have made that great of an impression.

Not sure if I’m even in the mood to date right now. Not sure I’ve been in the mood for the past couple of years, truth be told. Still kinda pissed/hurt that the 1st that I did get excited about in the last couple of years turned and ran (or whatever the ‘real’ truth is). I’m a good date. I know that. I follow the guys’ lead. I’m funny and talkative and ask lots of questions about him. I’m not ‘interview-y’ or awkward. I was told, by a few people, that I need to be more ‘vulnerable’. Truth be told, I don’t even know what that means. Should I declare that I need help (no, not mental, thank you very much)?

Oh well, the way things are going, I won’t need to brush up/reevaluate my dating skills anytime soon as my options are looking none too promising. Unless I learn to like swinging……….

 

2 Responses to “Who Likes To Swing?”

  1. Janet in Philly Says:

    Ugh. After swearing up and down I’d NEVER go back to online dating, I’m on Match. I ignored the ‘winkers’ and the likers as I consider winking pretty lame. Then I decided to give one a chance. His first correspondence was did I ever consider swinging. Ick, had to disinfect my keyboard. Also given up on foreign born, as they don’t let you get a word in edgewise and like to interrupt. And what IS it with the fish photos and the totally inappropriate match-ups. Gawd, I may as well have flushed that $135 down the toilet.
    Good luck out there – it sucks.

    • OMG $135? Did you join for a year? Don’t lose hope – there are good ones out there. You’ve already paid, so you’ve got nothin’ to lose my dear. Keep plugging away and hopefully a shiny penny will appear amongst all the loose change đŸ˜‰ xoxoxo


Leave a Reply

