43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

I’m Brilliant! Ish…. January 31, 2015

Filed under: bad dates,dating,internet dating,online dating,single — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 4:20 pm

Yes, that’s a statement and not a question.  I know, I know, I should have warned you before making such an announcement.  Why, you ask?  Well hold your horses, I’m getting there.  I put up my online profiles on Saturday morning and by about noon that same day, I wanted to take them back down.  Go figure.

I wrote entirely new profiles this time.  Before I used to just sort of tweak my old ones.  I wrote a little blurb about me.  The good, the bad and the ugly.  I put a bit of snark in it.  I never used to do that.  Well, aside from the one time I put up a HUGELY sarcastic profile listing all the things I wasn’t looking for.  It didn’t end well.  I put my religion.  I listed my body type accurately.  Not that I ever lied before, but I’ve certainly never had to mark ‘curvy’ before.  I put up pictures that show me in all my chubby glory. That’s where I’m at, so that’s what I put.  I opened up my search criteria.  I am not ruling out men that I find attractive (there’s gotta be that).  I am open to possibly dating someone shorter than I am (unless they’re a midget – gotta draw the line somewhere).  I’m not weighing blue color vs. white collar.  Apartment vs house.  Or anything other than finding out if they have a good heart, true intentions and *gasp* are truly interested in me.

Anyway, I received several messages earlier this week.  Of course half were discarded and a couple even got themselves blocked.  I did start chatting with someone who is not only shorter than I am, but who is absolutely going against the grain of who I normally like.  He’s very edgy.  I’m kinda not.  He’s handsome.  And bald.  And has a goatee.  And piercings.  Not in his ears either.  How do I know?  Well that’s because he’s shirtless in most of his pics.  This alone would normally make me ignore him.  I opted to go with it though.  He wrote me an amazing 1st message.  He read my profile.  And liked it!  He pulled out things that I had written and made reference to them (go figure).  He’s nice and funny and respectful and I’ve had a nice time messaging back and forth.

The 2nd man is out of state.  What?!?! He’s coming to town this week however and intends to move here this summer.  He’s younger than I am and is pretty adorable.  In the past I’d discount him as being full of shit, but this ‘new-ish’ me, is giving the benefit of the doubt.  He seems like a very nice guy and we scored highly on the ever scientific Q & A part of the site.

There is one other, but I’m not sure he’ll make it to the meet and greet phase of the process.

Okay, back on task, wanna know why I’m brilliant?  Every single one of the men that contacted me were off of OkStupid.  Not ONE decent contact from Match.  They have identical profiles.  The same pictures.  Matching verbiage.  With one difference.  OkStupid DOESN’T list relationship status on your profile.  Sure, it says if you’re single or not, but there’s no ‘divorced’, ‘never married’, ‘widowed’.  And there you have it.  The fact that I’m 47 and never been married is apparently just as big a deterrent to men as I feared it would be.  Damn…..

Regardless, I hope I have some good updates for you on upcoming dates.  And by ‘good’, I mean ‘positive’.  And by “positive, I mean ‘wouldn’t rather stab myself in the eye with a rusty fork’. Please GOD! 😉

 

3 Responses to “I’m Brilliant! Ish….”

  1. 1smiles Says:

    Fingers crossed… have a Great time!

  2. Pam Says:

    I wish you the best!
    I think changing it up never hurts!

  3. Hopelessly Romantic Cinderella Says:

    I love forward to hearing more. Maybe you can take a look at my latest post about an internet date I went on: https://hoplesslyromanticcinderella.wordpress.com/2015/01/31/the-epic-dating-fail/

    See if you can offer some insights.

    Cinders x o x o


Leave a Reply

