43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

I’m Here To Report…. March 11, 2015

Filed under: bad dates,dating,I suck,interent dating,online dating,single — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 10:04 am

That I really have nothing much to report.

I did have a dinner date the other night though.  No need to go getting all excited for me.  You know my rule about 1st dates/meet and greets/whatevers NOT being over a meal as there is no quick get away, but he invited me to an awesome restaurant in town and I accepted  I met him there, on time, and he was already waiting.  Nice touch to be early.  We had had some very nice message exchanges over the past couple of weeks but I wouldn’t say there was anything exciting about them.  As we work in the same industry, we had some common ground to talk about.  I did want to the chance to meet in person though, so didn’t hesitate when he invited me to dinner.

Unfortunately, there was just about zero chemistry between us.  He is nice enough but looks much older than his 47 years.  We talked about lots of things because really, that’s what I do.  Even though I know that there’s nothing on my end, I want to make sure that he has a nice time.  So we talked.  And talked.  And he’s got some long standing issues that even if I was attracted him, would be an enormous red flag for me.

As I always do, when I know I’m not interested, I offered to split the check and he declined.  Very classy.  As we parted ways, he gave me a hug and told me that he had enjoyed a nice dinner and nice conversation.  And that was that.

Now, about the guy I’m meeting tonight.  Uhm, not quite sure why I’m going.  I spoke with him on the phone Friday night as he states clearly in his profile that he won’t meet anyone without first having a phone conversation.  He wants to make sure that the other person is able to carry on a conversation.  Uhm, he should probably take that pre requisite out of his profile as it was just about the most annoying phone conversation I’ve ever had.  He was either drunk, overly tired or has a lisp.  An hour later of ‘to make a long story short’ and his talking incessantly about himself I had pretty much decided that he was the biggest misogynist on the planet and somewhat of an ass.  I politely told him that I needed to get some sleep and that was that.  Until he texted me the next day with ‘I am comfortable moving on to meeting in person’.  Seriously?  You are?  I’m not sure if I’m meeting him in order to see if he’s just as big an ass in person, or in the hopes that he’s not.  I’ve considered cancelling several times over the past couple of days, but I’m pretty sure I’ll go.  And also pretty sure I’ll be texting my friends what a douche he was 15 minutes later………

 

10 Responses to “I’m Here To Report….”

  1. Pam Says:

    Well, I guess you’ll never know, until you do…. at least you’re giving him a try.

  2. Hahahaha…can’t wait for the douchbag update 🙂 Hopefully he was just an ass on the phone and is not so bad in real life! Keep us updated!

  3. Cheryl Says:

    You had me cracking up about the “drunk tired or lisp” statement. Hilarious! I think you should definitely go, because I want to read about it. Sorry, that is completely selfish of me. So….you’re going, right?

    • I was dying to call him back the next day just to see which one it was! I figure if I called him mid day, that would certainly rule out the drunk option….. And yes, if nothing else, I will continue dating in order to keep everyone amused 🙂

  4. Cheryl Says:

    Thank you, you are ever so kind.

  5. heylarasinha Says:

    Aw man, I’m really hoping this guy turns out to be awesome in real life!!!

    And totally with you on avoiding meals for first dates. I also get there early so they can’t buy my drink/dessert/etc and I can get a table with a clear view of the door hahahaha. Just trying to make my potential getaway as smooth as possible, you know? 😉


Leave a Reply

