43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Fairy Tales and Delusions April 30, 2015

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 2:29 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Instead of demanding my phone number like that other douchebag, I had someone politely request my number after just 2 messages several days ago as he didn’t like to communicate on dating sites.  I get that.  There’s sort of a ‘big brother is watching’ feel to it.  As he asked so nicely (and was a total cutie in his pictures), I gave it to him.  And he actually picked up the phone and called me!  What a nice guy!  We talked for over 2 hours.  We actually have a lot in common and have been texting back and forth.

We are meeting for a drink tomorrow night (I’m writing this in advance and not actually posting it in case something goes horribly wrong …….. or right) and I’m actually nervous.  He’s a 6’2″ red head.  I love me a ginger!  He’s also very physically active and in shape.  Sadly, I am far from that right now.  I am honest in my profile and with my pictures, but I still fear that he’s going to take one look at me and run away.  While I’m far from a lazy sloth (most days), since my stupid surgery and repeated rounds of medications that do nothing but make me gain weight paired with my inability to exercise, I’ve certainly got more ‘padding’ than I ever have before.  He knows about all of this, but I still can’t help but wonder if someone like him would really be attracted to a ‘fluffier’ than normal me.

So we met yesterday and we’re running off to Europe together over the weekend.  It’s love!

Okay, not really.  Here’s how it really went.  He showed up and although I was a little bit disappointed in his appearance (he’s more skinny than built), I still knew he was a nice guy, so why not.   We sat and chatted and he looked everywhere but at me when he talked.  Uber annoying, but when I asked him about it, he said he does make eye contact when talking.  Okaaaaaay.  He was a bit opinionated and negative when he spoke, but I chalked that up to being nervous maybe?  Anyway, we had an okay time but as he announced, right off the bat, that he was taking his kids out to dinner later, I kinda got the hint.  We hung out for about an hour or so and he walked me to my car, gave me a hug, told me to keep in touch and even opened the car door for me.  Nice touch.  As I drove home I wondered if it was even worth giving things a 2nd chance just to make sure there was nothing there.  Before I could even decide if a 2nd date would be warranted I got a text message saying that he wasn’t interested.

Huh.  It’s a pretty crappy day when guys I’m not even sure I’m interested in tell me they’re not interested in me…… 😦

 

12 Responses to “Fairy Tales and Delusions”

  1. Don’t get caught up in that. You weren’t interested in him anyway. On to the next

  2. ACoupleTalks Says:

    I agree with the comment from the other blogger. Moving on quickly has its upsides.

  3. Imogen Says:

    I work on the basis that if I’m ‘normal’ and use sites like that, then there must be other ‘normal’ people out there, it just seems to take a heck of a lot of time to find them. I admire you for your determination to keep going, I enjoy reading your tales and hope you find what you are looking for.

    • I tend to think the same way Imogen! But it’s getting harder and harder to find those ‘normal’ ones! 😉 Thanks for the kind words. If I give up looking, then I’m for sure going to end up alone so I really have nothing to lose, right?

  4. Writingofpassage Says:

    Chalk it up to experience and move on Hun 🙂

  5. izziedarling Says:

    NEXT! He sucks … you are a prize, girl!

  6. Pam Says:

    Kudos to you, GG! Yes, indeed, on to the next!


Leave a Reply

