43 & Single – Heaven Help Me, I've Resorted To Internet Dating!

Ridiculous & Random Stories & Thoughts on My Experiences

Sunday Funday! Okay, just Sunday……….. November 15, 2015

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 9:39 am
Tags: , , ,

You’ll be surprised to read that I’m back on Match.  Not just having an active subscription, but that I have actually logged on 4 out of 7 days this week.  Sure, I’ve logged right back off soon thereafter, but baby steps, right?  I am ever hopeful that this time will be different.  For some reason, I feel that Einstein’s definition of insanity does not pertain to online dating.  At least not for me.  The men in my town are not doing much to prove otherwise however.

I got a ‘wink’ from a man who thought it was appealing to post a picture of him in a loose tank top, at the gym, dripping sweat from his much too wet head.  I was actually a bit revolted.  As is with all the lovely guys that post a picture with a dead fish or other such unappealing thing, I was hopeful (seeing a theme here?) that it was a one off picture and the rest would be normal.  Or as normal as online dating pics can be.  Nope.  No such luck.  There must have been a dozen sweaty gym pictures.  And this guy has long hair, so it was just bad.  The pics that weren’t sweaty gym ones, looked to be from the ’90s.  Pass.

I got a message from a seemingly normal (ish) sounding guy but his entire message to me consisted of ‘hi’.  I’m not sure why people think that messages are akin to texting.  They’re not.  Not one to outdo anyone, I sent back an equally enthusiastic ‘hi’.  And that was that.

I got a comment on one of my photos that I made a cute Packer’s fan (because, really, I do).  Unfortunately when I responded with my customary humurous ‘thank you so much for the compliment on my picture, I figured the Packers shirt would be much more attractive than wearing a cheese wedge hat on my head’.  Cute, right?  I got back ‘lol’.  Again, since this isn’t texting, it gave me nothing to go on, so I left it at that.

I’ve again gotten many messages from men of every generation.  It’s about a 50/50 split between guys that are waaay too young for me and guys that are waaaaaaay too old for me.  Sure, I’m approaching official old fart age, but I certainly don’t think I act or look like it.

Well, I am off to meet my sisters for brunch.  My twin will have her attached-at-the-hip husband with her and my oldest sister will have boyfriend #274 for the year with her.  Good times.  I know, by the way, that the old sister has a boyfriend because she has stopped posting incessant ‘your love will come along’, ‘I’ve been wronged’, ‘why doesn’t anyone love me’ platitudes on FB.  I wonder how long this one will last.  Guess I’ll just keep my eye on FB to find out!

 

Leave a Reply

