The Life & Times of a 54 Year Old Online Dater

Thoughts on My Experiences In Search of Love & Companionship, 10 Years Running

I May Need Longer Arms April 13, 2021

Filed under: internet dating — Grey Goose, Dirty @ 5:14 am
Tags: , , , ,

We all (yes, all 2 of us) know my affinity for bad decisions all things woo woo. My senile memory will never remember what everything stands for or the metaphysical properties of them, but I love me some stones and crystals. I wear balancing stones. Stones that help with alignment and self awareness and calmness and trusting and whatever else I feel I need help with. I lean towards the ridiculously self aware, self critical and overthinking. I wear Rose Quartz and Tiger’s Eye, Dalmation Jasper, Amethyst, Howlite, Clear Quartz and other healing stones. One that I have recently added and is apparently MUCH needed in response to my ridiculous reaction to the news of Mr. OoT and his impending nuptials (June 12th for those that would like to mark their calendars for this auspicious occasion) is Citrine. I am not a fan of yellow. I am blonde and have always found yellow anything to make me look jaundiced. Apparently Citrine and the color yellow are good for self love and self confidence. Apparently I am lacking in both regards. *insert collective ‘no shit’*

There is no other explanation for spending more than 12.5 seconds pondering ‘why not me’ when it comes to Mr. OoT. I read back on all my old blog posts, I read through all my saved text messages where he picked a million fights with me for no reason, always put himself 1st and said the most awful and hurtful things to me when he was angry with me (which was often). I am 53 fucking years old. How on earth can all my common sense fly out the window when it comes to and came to him? Gah I’m annoying to myself (and all those around me).

Anywhoo, although I know you’re not supposed to pair more than a few stones at a time, I have literally loaded up! I wear 7 different stones on a chain around my neck. I now wear 6 different beaded bracelets. I’ve always loved me some accessories and I am very well weighted down at the moment. I like them and they make me happy, so who cares.

So, back to The Wedding, which Mr. OoT has actually told his favorite sister (who HATES the bride to be and I couldn’t love her more for it) ‘you’re invited, don’t come’. What the ever living fuck? Who invites and dis-invites someone in the same breath? So weird. So the wedding which every single member of his super large family is against takes place June 12th. Know what happens that same week? The OoT family reunion which I was and still am invited to. I kinda hate Mr. OoT, but I truly adore his family (3 sisters, 3 brothers, 1 amazing dad, dozens of nieces and nephews) and they love me. I’m still invited. I still plan on going. I think. I have 2 months to get my head on straight and be able to enjoy everyone while ignoring/not caring about Mr. OoT and his new frumpy as hell bride. The family has rented a huge house on a lake near a national park about 7 hours from me with plenty of room for everyone. The reunion is in celebration of their dad’s 74th (I think) birthday. I’ve written about Mr. OoT’s dad before. He is one of the kindest, most amazing men ever. He sees Mr. OoT for who he is and has told me many times that he hopes that I stay a part of his family. That he couldn’t love me more than one of his own kids or daughter’s in law. Super sweet. We stay in touch and I drove to his town to take him to lunch a few weeks ago when I returned from my winter escape.

Most of his sisters have checked in on me. One of his ex wives has left a sweet comment on a post of mine. His daughter and I enjoy joking about the shit-show in the making. This could be a very healing trip for me or a very self destructive one. My love of his family is something separate than whatever it is or ever was that I felt for Mr. OoT. He rarely shows up to family events anyway and honestly, most of the family has flat out told me that they would happily dis-invite him to any family event if it made me feel uncomfortable. While I would never ask them to do that, the thought does make me smile.

I guess I’ll see how I feel about all of this in about 8 weeks. Oh, and as a reward for the 2 of you that are left still reading this and busily shaking your heads and rolling your eyes at me, here’s a little gift. I’m doing okay. I’ve been making myself go out more and not wallow. Oh, and I’m back on Bumble. And have a date on Friday. You’re welcome 😉

 

4 Responses to “I May Need Longer Arms”

  1. Jennifer Robins Says:

    Is he marrying the lunch lady?

    • Hi friend! Even worse! He’s marrying an unattractive, matronly woman who “gives him the love his mother never did & fills a whole in his heart.” Oh, and who will ‘dedicate her life to pleasing him’. He’s basically marrying the mother he always wanted 🤢 She’s a kindergarten teacher, so she’s probably good at dealing with petulant children 🤷🏼‍♀️

  2. tallcoookie Says:

    Aloha!
    I am not sure if I am one of the “two” ……but I have been following you for years! Your witty sarcasm has gotten me through several horrible breakups and one current so so marriage ;0) Relationships are HARD! and HARDER if you are a female over 6’….I am 6’1″ and would love to share horror….I mean dating stories with you someday, or life stories in general……had a brat kid at the gas station say to me as I was paying the other day…..”You’re Huuuuge!” Thanks kid. What a lovely way to start my day!
    Ps….Mr oOTo can SUCK IT!

    • Of course I remember you! I guess I need to change the number to 4 😉 I get the horrors of dating while tall, not 6’1, but 5’10”. Well, until I was rudely informed last year that I am shrinking and am now 5’9 1/4″ 🤬. Fairly certain that at least part of my being upset about Mr OoT is that I have to start dating again 😯 Sorry about the gas station kid 🙄 I think being tall is awesome; one of my best friends is 6’1″ and yes, we need to compare notes one day ❤


Leave a comment